Seeding confirmation?

jesspark

So after my little snafu with the ShoutBox earlier this evening, I figured that I may as well come clean and admit that I'm not just an occasional ditz (although mistaking the ShoutBox for a Search was simply a blonde moment); I'm also a hopeless newbie when it comes to torrents. Feel free to pelt rotten veggie veggie fruit fruits at me now.

Done? Okay. =)

I've been doing a lot of downloading tonight, and I'm concerned that I'm not seeding correctly once my files finish downloading. I don't want to take without giving back to the community, so I want to leave my files up as long as possible... but I moved a few of the downloaded files after viewing them, and re-opening their torrents just started them downloading again.

I generated new torrents using the relocated downloaded files and now BitTorrent OSX tells me that they're "Seeding Nonstop," but I was wondering if there was some way to make sure that other members of MouseBits are able to access these files. Each torrent that I download from now on goes in a specifically designated folder rather than on my desktop, so I shouldn't have to worry about moving stuff around in the future, but, for my recently downloaded files, I just want to know that my attempts at seeding are working--or, if not, what I can do to resolve the situation.

Clear as mud? I thought so. =) If you can decipher my exhausted/clueless ramblings, any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
Jess

Right now, it is showing that you are seeding 5 torrents.
If you want to check to see which torrents are seen being seeded, just click on your name in the online users list to the left. I hope this helps and welcome!

I have never heard of your client "Mainline". Try using uTorrent, it works well for most people.

Also make sure you don't have a firewall blocking the ports necessary for other client programs to communicate with yours!