Editing Audio and MP3 Help

Mara

Hello,

Although I've been collecting Disney music for a couple of years, I'm just now beginning to look into the editing/tagging/technical side of things. I'm not wanting to do anything too complicated - just basic editing. I have some questions that will probably seem basic and silly to more advanced users, but I'm hoping someone will be able to point me in the right direction.

1. What is a good program to use for tagging mp3s? Should I just use Windows Explorer to do this, or is it better to use other software?

2. What program is good for ripping CDs in a lossless format? Is flac the best format for this? Also, when ripping CDs as mp3s, is it better to rip at 320kbps or VBR? File size is not an isssue - I just want the best quality.

3. I would like to do some basic editing, such as edit all individual tracks together to resemble as closely as possible the various loops that play in the parks. From what I can tell, I will need software that's able to crossfade, fade in/fade out, cut the running time of some tracks down, remove vocals, etc. Is there a program that can do this that's easy for beginners to learn and also not break the bank? I don't mind paying for good software, but something for professionals will probably be out of my league in budget and with the steep learning curve.

My computer uses Windows 7, and most of my files are mp3s, so that's the format I would be working with for the most part. I looked at Audacity, but from what I can tell, it isn't able to edit mp3s without degrading the quality even further. Is there a program that's able to do everything I want and not degrade the quality?

I think that should do it for now, but I'm sure I'll have more questions down the road. Thanks for any help.